I’m Making Games…

Posted on June 22, 2011

0


At least lately, I am. I picked up Gunner Rex again, the brainchild of Jake Richmond, and a game about fighting with giant Dinosaur Mechs in prehistory. It’s kind of an ambitious design for me, and I quickly got distracted by other things:

-A game trying to do My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic justice by way of an Apocalypse World hack (still noodling on this one; I need to finish the series first).

-A 5 minute game challenge game that turned into a full-fledged game called Superwizard!, that’s basically a roleplaying game layered over a card game (though it’s not parlor narration–for the game to be playable you have to roleplay). I have no further plans for SW! and no desire to play it. It was good to write it, though, because I think writing Superwizard! paved the way for the design of the next game, Aporia (working title), which I do have a desire to play.

 

-Salient details for Aporia if you don’t want to read the 3.25 pages:

  • explores doubt and uncertainty
  • 3 to 5 players.
  • about an hour, I think.
  • we deal with the real doubt of someone at the table.
  • a single, shared character.
  • scene framing/”what is this scene about?”/”this scene is over”/”I’m the main character” — these four responsibilities are split up and given to different players.
  • ritualistic elements.
  • akin to some roleplaying poems, in that the point of play is to explore a mood/theme/feeling.

Here’s the link, if you’re interested.

Posted in: Game Drafts, rpg