The Warcaster Talent

Posted on August 15, 2015

0


I write about writing often, so I figured I’d share something that is now finished (as finished as I can make it), especially since some folks have been curious to read it.

Some  things:

  1. This is fanfiction. I want to qualify and justify that, but fuck it. It is what it is. I embrace the lowbrow. The story isn’t particularly experimental or trying to stretch any bounds (which I enjoy doing). I was trying to write a good story, full stop.
  2. I was heavily into this game called Warmachine when I started writing this. Warmachine has fiction associated with it, and I was reading some of that. I thought it was pretty bad, and I thought I could do better. So I wrote this out of that impulse.
  3. You don’t have to be familiar with the property to understand it, in a broad sense. At least, that was my goal. I like it when speculative fiction restrains the impulse to info dump about its world, so if you feel like I’m leaving out things an “insider” would get, I’m not doing that. I’m just practicing restraint.
  4. Critique is welcomed with open arms.

Here you go: The Warcaster Talent.

Posted in: Xncategorized